Sunday, February 27, 2005

Chicago White Sox Season Lookback - 1901

Record - 83-53, Finished First Place in the American League
Pythagorean Record - 84-52

Starters (Note - I couldn't find a set lineup, so I'm listing the players who got the most time at their respective positions)

Hitters (BA/OBP/SLG)

C - Billy Sullivan (.245/.271/.351)
1b - Frank Isbell (.257/.311/.329)
2b - Sam Mertes (.277/.347/.396)
3b - Fred Hartmen (.309/.355/.431)
SS - Frank Shugart (.251/.301/.345)
LF - Herm McFarland (.275/.384/.383)
CF - Dummy Hoy (.294/.407/.400)
RF - Fielder Jones (.311/.412/.365)

Team Leaders

Homeruns - Sam Mertes (5)
Batting Average - Fielder Jones (.311)
OPS - Dummy Hoy (.807)
Best Fielder - Frank Isbell (17 Fielding Runs Above Average)

Pitchers (IP/W/ERA)

SP - Roy Patterson (312.3/20/3.37)
SP - Clark Griffith (266.7/24/2.67)
SP - Jack Katoll (208/11/2.81)
SP - Nixey Callahan (215.3/15/2.42)
RP - Zaz Harvey (92/3/3.62)

Team Leaders

Wins - Clark Griffith (24)
ERA - Nixey Callahan (2.42)
Strikeouts - Roy Patterson (127)


The 1901 Chicago White Sox won the American League Pennant their first year of existance. Led by the bats of Fielder Jones and Dummy Hoy, the team led the league in runs scored (809) and stolen bases (280), and they were second in OBP (.350) Hoy and Jones were first and second in walks and were second and third in the league in Times on Base.

The pitching staff, led by Roy Patterson and Clark Griffith, posted the lowest ERA (2.98) in the league. and were second in strikeouts (394, two short of Boston). Griffith led the league in Won/Lost % (.774) and shutouts (5) and also managed the team. While their first place finish wasn't recognized as a championship, they wouldn't have to wait long before being crowned the World Series winner.


At 2:53 PM, Blogger Steve M said...

I have been A White Sox fan since 1955. I especially love the Hitless Wonders years. But this was a solid pennant winner. A most interesting team. Thanks for putting in this blog. Good stuff!


Post a Comment

<< Home